Image shows last years winners at the RAF Benevolent Fund Awards

Monday 15th April 2019

The shortlisted nominees for the seventh annual RAF Benevolent Fund awards have been announced. The winners of the nine award categories will be revealed at a special ceremony on 27 June in London.

Nominations were open to the public via the Fund’s website and the shortlist was carefully chosen by a panel of expert judges. The awards celebrate and recognise the stand-out contributions made by a few of the many dedicated individuals and corporate partners who support the RAF Benevolent Fund.

RAF Benevolent Fund Chief Executive Air Vice-Marshal David Murray said:

“The RAF Benevolent Fund Awards is our opportunity to share the successes of the past year with the incredible supporters who make our work possible. In this our centenary year, we reflect on 100 years of support given to the RAF Family, looking after them during the tough times, and look forward to celebrating the inspirational fundraisers and donors who keep that work going.

“Congratulations to all those who have been nominated, it is always a very difficult decision to choose just three nominees in each of the categories. We see all of our supporters as winners, their dedication to our cause is what will keep us motivated for another 100 years of support.”

The shortlist, in alphabetical order, is:

Above & Beyond

SAC Mark Bissett

Si Footer

John White

Airplay Youth Worker of the Year

Sarah Marum, RAFC Cranwell

Kathryn Smith, RAF Waddington

Sharon Pollard, RAF Wittering

Air Training Corps Squadron or University Air Squadron of the Year

282 East Ham Air Cadets

University Birmingham Air Squadron

Yorkshire Universities Air Squadron

Corporate Fundraising Activity of the Year

Co-op Lincolnshire Ltd

Fairthorn Farrell Timms

Heroes Drinks

Fundraising Team of the Year

April Fools’ Club

Kinloss RAF Widows

RAF 100 Celebration Team – Broomhall Estate

Outstanding Support from an Organisation

Ascot Racecourse


University of the Highlands and Islands Moray College

RAF Station of the Year

RAF Fylingdales

RAF Henlow

RAF Odiham

RAF Stations Challenge Cup

MOD Abbey Wood

RAF Halton

RAF Honington

Welfare Caseworker of the Year

Peter McGraghan

John Sharpe MBE

Stephen Uzzell

The RAF Benevolent Fund is the RAF’s leading welfare charity, and last year spent £21million supporting more than 53,000 people.

Image: Last year’s winners at the RAF Benevolent Fund Awards. Photo: RAF Benevolent Fund

See also: Military support organisations

Back to news Subscribe to eBulletin